Snapchat is a social media app that provides you with many different filters. Its feature of disappearing photos or messages just after or 24 hours later is proven convenient to some or some just don’t like it. It’s a photo sharing platform where you can take goofy selfies, selfies with dog filters. It is real time fun.
So if you are trying to completely detox yourself from social media platforms or just don’t like snapchat filters anymore and want to take a break from all the social media.
If Snapchat is on your list, then keep on reading this article to know how you can delete or deactivate Snapchat account.
Deactivating your account means your friends and family will not be able to find you on snapchat. But if you will login to your account within 30 days it will be reactivated with all your contacts and data’s. Otherwise your account will be deleted permanently and all your data will be lost.
Before deleting or deactivating your account, make sure to backup all your photos and videos, otherwise after following these steps you will lose all your photos.
How to deactivate Snapchat account?
Step 1: Go to the snapchat app. Click on the profile icon shown on the Top left corner of your screen.
Step 2: Now go to the settings. You can see the settings option on the top right corner.
Step 3: Now swipe down and go to the “I need help” section under support.
Step 4: Now click on My Account and Security option.
Step 5: After clicking on My Account and Security, you will see many options. The second last option will be Delete My Account. Click on it.
Step 6: After clicking on Delete My Account, you will need to click on accounts portal which will appear in blue color.
Step 7: After that you will need to login to your account by entering the password of your account. So, enter the password.
Step 8: Now after entering the correct password, click on continue.
Now your Snapchat account is deactivated.
How to deactivate Snapchat account without the app
Step 2: Now click on Delete My Account option.
Step 3: After that, click on accounts portal which will be appearing as blue color.
Step 4: Now you will be asked to login to your account by entering your username and password. Enter your username and correct password.
Step 5: After login, you will again need to enter your password. After entering your password correctly click on continue.
Now your Snapchat account is deactivated.
How to delete or deactivate Snapchat – FAQs
Does deleting the app, deletes the account?
No, deleting a snapchat app does not mean your account is deleted. You can login back to your account by entering your username and password and all your data is still there.
How to reactivate the deactivated account?
It is simple, just login to your account by entering your username and password within 30 days after deactivating it and you will get back to your account. Sometimes, it takes more than 24 hours to reactivate your account, so you have to be patient for a while.
Can we get back to our account after 30 days of deactivating it?
Snapchat gives you the period 30 days to reactivate your account. After that it is permanently deleted. So, you cannot get back your account if it has been more than 30 days. You can not log back to your previous account but you can create the new one with the same number or email address but your username may differ.
Why is my snapchat account deactivated on its own?
If you get the message that your account is temporarily deactivated. Maybe there will be a third party who is continuously trying to login to your account or maybe you were sending spam, or behaving abusively. You just need to wait for 24 hours or more patiently and then you can get back to your account.
After deleting the account what does the friend see?
When you delete or deactivate your account and not just the app, your account will not be visible on your friend’s snapchat contact and also they will not be able to send any snaps to you. Your account will disappear like it never existed.
Will the police be able to read the messages from the deleted account?
As soon as you read the message from snapchat sent by your friend or family, it is deleted from snapchat server. So, after reading the message, it is gone forever. So the police will not be able to retrieve your messages.
How many reports does it take to delete someone’s fake account?
Three reports will be required to delete someone’s account. Users’ behaviour runs the social media platform. So if they notice any abusive behaviour they are going to delete the account for good.
I hope you get all the important information you are looking for. I have tried to give you as much information as possible to you. If you find this information informative please do share with your friends. If you have any doubt leave us a comment.